Random Fan with Darwin Blake

Today’s post is a segment we like to call Random Fan and here are the rules:

Once a month Morgan and I will invite one of you to ask us three questions, but be prepared because we get to ask three of our own in return.

If you’d like to opt in, please leave a comment below and your name will be entered into consideration. December’s Random Fan will be chosen by Random.org and will be contacted via email on November 10.

* * * * *

Our very first Random Fan is none other than the Almost Famous Author, Mr. Darwin Blake. Many thanks to Darwin for signing on for this experiment.  If you’d like to know more about Mr. Blake and his body of work, be sure to visit his site at http://darwinblake.com/

Darwin Blake: Is it frustrating working as a team on projects?

MOG and Jenn: Quite the opposite. Writing is by nature a solitary endeavor, but in our experience having another person to encourage and enhance the process has only improved the quality of the story. We don’t always write together, but we do always work a story together. Sometimes Morgan writes while Jennifer edits and vice versa.  But we always outline together and find that the time spent with one another on writing projects has even strengthened our personal relationship.

MOG and Jenn:  What poet would you most like to be compared to? 

Darwin Blake:  My my what a question…Robert Burns is a huge influence but there are so many to choose from. I like to read a lot of modern poetry especially my friends P.J Bayliss, Tammy Louise-Wilkins, Heavenly Haven and Miss B.L Ronan.

Darwin Blake: When we meet (and we will) how will you greet me? (This is more for Morgan because I want man hugs!)

MOG:  I think Tommy Boy said it best when he declared, “Brothers gotta hug!”

MOG and Jenn:  What city in America would you most like to visit?

Darwin Blake:  Oh lots, New York, Washington..lots! I also want to go to Voodoo Doughnuts in Portland. and of course Seattle.

Darwin Blake: What’s your favourite song?

Jenn: The Swing of Things by a-ha. I’m a lifelong fan and Scoundrel Days is hands down my favorite album of theirs. I still vividly remember the afternoon when I sat in my best friend’s bedroom while we listened to that song for the first time.

MOG: First of all, you must understand how difficult a question this is for me to answer. It would pain me to choose my Top Five favorite songs, let alone just one. You don’t know how hard it was not to pick Sell Me by Eartha Kitt or Indifference by Pearl Jam. But my very favorite song in the whole world is The Friends of Mr. Cairo by Jon and Vangelis. It’s an epic twelve minute song that celebrates Film Noir, sung by the frontman of the legendary rock band, Yes.

MOG and Jenn:  Have you ever written songs? Would you like to?  

Darwin Blake:   Of course, I may try my hand one day, who knows what will come?  I believe that anyone who has written a poem or prose is a wordsmith, all we need is the music for the words.

Posted on November 5, 2013, in Interview, Jennifer Locklear, Morgan Locklear, Random Fan and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Hey you two … I am loving your blog 🙂 And as always enjoy reading s’more about Mr. Blake TY xox

  2. Love this! So happy to see you all & learn more about you. Mr. B – I’m sad you left out Chicago on your US list!!! 🙂

  3. I’ve been browsing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. Its pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be much more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

