Jennifer Reviews: Ready to Fall by Daisy Prescott

Ready To Fall

The Synopsis:

When you fall, you fall hard…

Readers first fell in love with John Day as the hot next-door neighbor in Romantic Comedy Best Seller Geoducks Are for Lovers. Tall, dark, and handsome is an understatement. With the beard, a dog named Babe, and his ever present plaid shirt, John is a modern lumberjack in more ways than one.

Lurking beneath the flannel and beard could be the heart of a romantic. Or is John a wolf in flannel clothing?

After his favorite neighbor rents out her cabin for the winter, John finds himself playing fireman and tour guide to Diane Watson, a beautiful brunette with her own messy past and recent battle scars. When an ex shows up unexpectedly, their lives will be changed forever.

Will he be ready to fall in love? Or will he fall back into his old, flirty ways?

Hold onto your heart… and get ready to fall for John Day.

My Review:

Last summer, I read and reviewed Daisy Prescott’s debut novel, Geoducks Are For Lovers. It was a book I adored for several reasons.  Among them were the two main characters, Maggie and Gil, and their sweet love story. I also enjoyed  the ensemble cast of friends visiting Maggie at her home on Whidbey Island, Washington. The group  of college friends enjoyed a rare weekend in each other’s company, recalling good times spent together and creating new memories to carry their friendships further into the future. I loved the great care Daisy took in constructing this group of characters and bringing them all to life.

So when I heard she was working on a follow-up story, I was eager to see what was next.  And this is where the author surprised me.

Daisy took a calculated risk with Ready to Fall when she chose to focus the story on just one of the ensemble characters featured in her first book.  It is now winter on Whidbey and nearly everyone has returned to their lives away from the island.  The only one left is John Day, Maggie’s neighbor, who always has and always will call the island his home.  I sat down to read Ready to Fall, knowing I would miss Maggie and Gil’s love story, and I wondered just how much I would be able to connect with John.

My concerns were quickly put to rest.

Not only has Daisy brilliantly crafted and evolved John Day’s life story, she also introduces another set of new and interesting characters for him to interact with.  Some have known John Day all his life, but one, Diane Watson, is a newcomer to Whidbey Island who rents Maggie’s house for the winter and captures John’s attention from the moment they meet.   The chemistry between John and Diane is clear from the beginning, but the two are recovering from romances gone awry and agree to be friends who “date without dating.”

As the winter transitions into spring and their friendship blossoms,  they learn more about one another’s lives.  It becomes more difficult for John to dismiss the idea of being  romantically involved with Diane. The only question is whether or not they are both ready to renege on their pact.

“What?” She played innocent. “I was talking about boats. You said you had a small boat.”

“My boat is just the right size and gets the job done.”

Her eyes wandered up and down my frame before settling back on my face. “I’ve no doubt. When will I get to see this boat?”

“We’re still talking about fishing, right?”

“Of course.”

I didn’t believe her.

She set down her food and stretched out on the blanket. I played with a piece of grass as I rested my elbows on my  knees and looked down at her. With her eyes closed and her hair loose from her ponytail, her typical guarded sadness disappeared. Left was her natural beauty, the softness of her cheeks, dark lashes against light skin, rose-colored lips parted and welcoming. She should be kissed. Kissed thoroughly.

Our brief kiss from Port Townsend flashed through my memory. I hadn’t given her an opportunity to respond. As strong as the urge was to give her another opportunity, I hesitated. Today wasn’t the day.

Dark eyes met mine. I’d been caught staring.

“What are you thinking about?” she asked, shielding her eyes from the sun to look at me.

On the surface, John Day appears to be your typical lumberjack next door.  He loves his home on the island and enjoys being a bachelor, but as his relationship with Diane deepens, the complexities of John’s life rise to the surface and they make for a fascinating read.   Make no mistake, I thought the sun rose and set on sexy Gil Morrow in Geoducks Are For Lovers, but I have been utterly swept away by John Day in Ready to Fall.  As such I enthusiastically give this story a five star rating and encourage you to put this book on your list of Must Reads immediately.

Daisy Prescott graciously provided me with an ARC of Ready to Fall in exchange for an honest review.  It was the first book I read after finishing  Gabriel’s Redemption by Sylvain Reynard,  and take it from a longtime fan girl of The Professor, it was a lovely way to move forward.

The novel’s release date is set for December 17 and I encourage you to visit Daisy’s website to keep up with the latest news on its availability.

http://daisyprescott.com/

Enjoy and Take Care,

Jenn

Posted on December 17, 2013, in Jennifer Locklear, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

