Random Fan with Tosha from La Literati

This month’s Random Fan is Tosha, who has her own online radio show called La Literati.  It is a show about poetry, books and creative, inspiring people of all kinds. Morgan and I were honored when Tosha asked us to appear on the show.  You can listen to our interview live on April 27 at 6:00 pm Eastern time. In the meantime, if you’d like to know more about La Literati, be sure to visit at http://www.blogtalkradio.com/laliteraticarpelibrum.

Many thanks to Tosha for signing on for this experiment with us.

 

la literati

Morgan and Jennifer: How did the La Literati online radio show come about? What do you enjoy most about the show?

Tosha: I’ve always had a passion for reading and writing. Authors and poets are truly my heroes. I wanted a way to pay tribute to the creative mind. La Literati was born out of that idea. I asked my dear friend and fellow bibliophile, James Dennard, to come along for the journey. He graciously agreed, and the rest is history.

The best part about doing the show is connecting with writers. It’s always exciting to hear their creative process. We want La Literati to not only be a platform for established authors, but also for up and coming ones.

Tosha: It’s an honor to be your fan of the month, but why not fan of the year? Can you tell me a bit about your upcoming book?

Morgan and Jennifer: Sure, thanks for asking. This summer, we will be publishing our first novel with Omnific Publishing. The book is called Exposure and is a contemporary romance set in present day Hollywood. We decided to write it together after Jennifer shared the story idea with Morgan over a date night dinner. We’d say it leans more toward the comedic than the dramatic, but there is a dastardly villain to elevate the tension and there are also some pretty steamy love scenes.

Morgan and Jennifer: Was there a particular book or a series of books that inspired your love of reading and books? Where did it all begin?

Tosha: It all started from C.S. Lewis and The Chronicles of Narnia. As a child, I used to spend endless hours trying to travel through my wardrobe. 🙂 I also loved Dr. Seuss and The Boxcar Children, by Gertrude Chandler Warner.

Jennifer: Your answer takes me back, Tosha. When I was growing up, the boy who lived next door to me was considerably older but whenever his parents babysat me, he would read to me from the Narnia books. When he graduated high school and went off to college, he gifted me with a set of my own. And my third grade teacher read The Boxcar Children to my class. Those were some of my favorite moments in childhood.

boxcar children

Tosha: What do you feel is the difference between male and female points of view?

Jennifer: One of the reasons I asked Morgan to co-write Exposure with me was because I had a very specific male villain in mind and I was determined to write him correctly. I knew Morgan would be more likely to tap into that male energy and help bring the character fully to life. Not to say that he strictly wrote the male characters or that I stuck to the female characters, but his input on certain reactions for the male characters in our novel was instrumental.

Morgan: Jennifer’s passes on the manuscript brought out more and more emotion and tone. The characters were well-drawn, but not yet colored and she filled them in. Once we both saw what the other was adding to the process, we both gained the ability to find places to boost the necessary aspects important to a particular scene.

Jennifer: When I’m asked a question like this, I always rely on my experience as a parent. I have a son and a daughter, and I would say there is only one major difference I’ve noticed between the two. My son tends to be frustrated or annoyed by situations. As his mother, I realized early on that if I could successfully distract him from the situation that was upsetting him, he’d quickly forget about it and move on with his day. Not so with my daughter. My daughter always becomes irritated or angry at the person(s) she feels is responsible for causing a disagreeable situation. Her reactions are always more personal than situational, and as such she usually needs to find her resolutions by discussing her feelings with the people she’s been upset by.

Tosha: You discover a beautiful island upon which you may build your own utopia. What are the first three rules you put into place?

Morgan: Everyone gets a vote. Everyone gets a chance. Everyone gets a chalupa.

Jennifer: Seconded.

Morgan and Jennifer: What author would you love to interview on your show that you haven’t had the chance to yet? Why?

Tosha: This is a tough question. There are so many!! I’m going go with Morgan and Jenn Locklear. I’m told there will be candy if I do. 🙂

Morgan: Would you settle for a chalupa?

chalupa

Posted on April 25, 2014, in Announcements, Exposure, Interview, Jennifer Locklear, Morgan Locklear, Random Fan, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

