Random Fan with Terry the Nurse

terry

This month’s Random Fan is Terry the Nurse. We met Terry online a while ago and we were lucky enough to meet Terry in person in September 2013. If you follow the Argyle Empire blog, you will no doubt recognize Terry as author of some wonderful articles highlighting literature, music and art featured in the Gabriel Series by Sylvain Reynard.  You can read one of those articles here: http://www.argyleempire.com/2013/06/why-did-gabriel-select-puccinis-madame.html

Many thanks to Terry for signing on for this experiment with us.

 

Terry: I’m fascinated that you two actually write together. I have a hard enough time writing on my own. Can you give us some idea how you do it?

Morgan and Jennifer: So far there’s no one formula that works best. Each project we’ve worked on has been constructed differently. Sometimes one of us writes, while the other edits.

Jennifer: In the case of our novel, Exposure, it was a true collaboration. The story idea was mine and I mentioned it to Morgan one night. He liked the premise immediately and encouraged me to pursue it, but I was hesitant to tackle it on my own for several reasons. So I asked Morgan if he would write it with me, and he eagerly agreed.

Morgan: We outlined chapters together, and then one of us would take a crack at writing the first draft. When that was done, the chapter was passed on to the other writer for additions and amendments. We also asked several trusted friends to beta read the chapters for feedback. Since there were two of us writing the story, it was critical to have some neutral sets of eyes to look over the manuscript. It helped us to know if we were hitting all the right marks in our storytelling.

Morgan and Jennifer: We know you’ve written some fabulous articles for Argyle Empire, so we’re curious to know more about your background with writing.

Terry: Thank you for the compliment. I’ve been doing expository writing for many years – mostly for magazines and/or journals that deal with nursing practice or other academic work. I am always admiring those of you who can write fiction – I have no talent in that area! My writing experience is almost entirely non-fiction, essay, or expository, which probably comes from my love for the arts and sciences. I’m a voracious non-fiction reader, too; most expository writers love to explore what they’ve learned through their reading and share it with others.

The Argyle Empire posts were particularly special to me. Not only did I want to share the multifaceted beauty of SR’s books and writing with a larger audience on line, but I also wanted to introduce some of the more artistic works (found in the books) to those who may not have an exposure to the Arts. I love pop culture, but you can see that there is something about the classics that survive time, circumstances, and cultural transformation. They are truly timeless, and I loved uncovering some of those gems in the Gabriel Series for the AE website. I hope I was able to tickle a budding interest in opera and literature for some of SR’s readers.

Terry: SR says write every day, and I know you guys do. I also know that you work, raise 2 active kids, have housekeeping duties, and have to do the cursed food shopping. I’ve always been curious how you both developed the discipline to not just say, “I’m tired. I’ll write tomorrow.” How? What inspires you to not procrastinate?

Morgan: There are months when I write every day, but then there are months when I don’t. I have discipline in bursts. It depends on whether I’m writing brand new material or editing an existing project. The new stuff comes in spurts. The seasoned stuff simmers for a while.

Jennifer: I write quite a bit for my real life job, so that helps me stay focused on the activity of it. But since my fiction writing has to take place in my off hours, I have to budget time for it. Some days this can be frustrating because I’ll be anxious to work on a scene or a chapter and there simply isn’t time. But most of the time it works well for me because I like to think about scenes quite a bit before I sit down to the computer to create them.

 

exposure manuscript

Morgan and Jennifer: If you could go back in time and witness any event in history, what would it be? And…would you intervene to influence its course?

Terry: I am so old that I actually did witness (as a child) the event that I believe changed the course of the latter half of the 20th century, and still reverberates today. The event is the assassination of John F. Kennedy in November, 1963. I love American history, but this one event I think changed the course of history and caused a sea change in what happened afterward. Witnessing a presidential assassination is traumatic in itself, but I believe things would have been very different had JFK not gone to Dallas that day. It is likely that we would not have had a Viet Nam war (at least not its escalation) which would have prevented the protest movements of the 1960s, our massive distrust in government, Nixon and Watergate….the list is endless. At the same time, I don’t think I would have intervened if I could. Without the antiwar movement, we wouldn’t have had the women’s movement, the gay rights movement, or many of the other social movements that came out of the 60s and that permanently changed American life. It’s an interesting way to think about the legacy of the JFK assassination.

Morgan and Jennifer: What song best describes you? Why?

Terry: I think the song that best describes me is Kelly Clarkson’s “Stronger.” Ever since I was diagnosed with uterine cancer in early 2013, I’ve had to be a warrior. It’s true: what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. I have wonderful friends and family helping me fight the battle, but in the end, it’s all about your attitude in adversity. You just can’t let the small stuff (or the big stuff) get you down. I strongly believe that a positive attitude has a lot to do with healing from a catastrophic illness. I try to be a good example of that.

Terry: Who killed off Joffrey???? My vote is Grandmom. (Diana Rigg)

Morgan and Jennifer: We know who didn’t kill Joffrey, and that’s Tyrion. #FreeTyrion

 

tyrion

Terry: You both have a fabulous sense of humor. Do you find that you bring that to your writing? Does it make it easier/harder?

Morgan: I can’t help it. I have always had a desire to find the levity in any situation and have always been rewarded with laughter. Jennifer’s original vision for Exposure had always included a despicable villain and a fun relatable group of main characters. People laughing together is about as relatable as it gets for me. Most of my great party observations are just me repeating something Jennifer whispered to me. She has always made me laugh, and is goodly enough to laugh in turn at my humorous antics.

Jennifer: I adore reading stories that include brilliant bits of humor. Someday I’d like to write one, but I’ll have to work up to it. Morgan’s sense of humor is one his defining characteristics and something that caught my attention almost immediately the night we met. He is extroverted and often fearless; whereas I’m more snarky and observational. Either way, we both love to laugh and I can’t imagine working on a project together and being able to completely withhold that from a narrative.

Locklears Dec 2013

 

Posted on May 20, 2014, in Exposure, Interview, Jennifer Locklear, Morgan Locklear, Random Fan, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Great interview and post! Terry is an amazing gal with lots of talent & hopefully she’ll work up the courage to sit down and write a story. You two are just too cute in that picture 😉 All the best with “Exposure.” :)) x

    Ellie T.(a.k.a. Elena M)

    • Morgan Locklear & Jennifer Locklear

      Thank you, Ellie!

      We agree completely with you about Terry. We’re all very blessed to know her.

      And thanks for the compliment on the photo. That was a fun night. 🙂

      ~ Jennifer

  2. Lovely interview on all three accounts! Looking forward to reading Exposure! God Bless you Terry for sharing your journey with cancer. The humor & attitude that you, Morgan and Jennifer, convey is so fun!! Best wishes for success!

    • Morgan Locklear & Jennifer Locklear

      Thank you, Rachelle!

      We’re so happy you enjoyed the interview. It was fun to sit down and chat with a friend. Terry’s positivity is contagious.

      Thanks also for your kind words about Exposure. We look forward to sharing it with everyone soon!

      ~ Jenn

  3. Absolutely brilliant interview!!! Love our beautiful friend and talented lady Terry! xox

Leave a Reply

